By-Election 2019

Declaration of Results for the election held on October 30, 2019 for the position of one (1) councillor:

AEBIG:  110

HAND:     68

ISFELD:   18


Number of rejected, spoiled or objected to ballots:  0

Total number of voters:  223

Municipal Election Information

The Town of Rosthern follows The Saskatchewan Local Government Election Act. The last municipal general election took place on October 26, 2016. The current Mayor and Councillors will complete their four year term in October 2020. Terms of office for members of council, including the mayor, begin at the first meeting of council following a general municipal election. The next scheduled general election is October 28, 2020.

 If a Councillor resigns from their position, a by-election must be held to fill the vacancy, unless the vacancy happens in the year of a general election.

 The Act states that the Town Administrator will perform the function of the Returning Officer for the municipality unless Town Council appoints another person to act in that capacity. The Returning Officer is the person responsible for the overall process of the election, such as calling for and accepting nominations, arranging for election workers, identifying polling locations, ordering ballots, monitoring the voting process on election day and ultimately declaring the successful candidates. The Local Government Election Act outlines the process that must be followed to ensure that the election is conducted correctly.

Nomination Day

Nominations for candidates will be received at the municipal office during normal office hours after the posting for the call for nominations. The nomination form may be submitted to the Returning Officer by:
  • personal service by the candidate or a person acting on the candidate's behalf;
  • registered or ordinary mail;
Nomination papers for the Town of Rosthern must be signed by at least five voters of the municipality and a current criminal record check must be attached.

Nomination Day for the next election date will be posted closer to the election date in 2020.

Who Can Run?

 A person may be nominated as a candidate in a municipal election if he or she meets requirements relating to age, citizenship, residency or property. A candidate must be:
  • Be at least 18 years of age on elections day;
  • Be a Canadian citizen;
  • At the time the candidate submits the nomination paper, the candidate must have resided in the municipality for at least three consecutive months; and
  • Must be a Saskatchewan resident for at least six consecutive months immediately preceding the date on which nomination papers are submitted.

For more additional information click on Running for Municipal Office

Who Can Vote?

 Eligible voters must be:
  • At least 18 years of age on election day;
  • A Canadian citizen;
  • A resident of Saskatchewan for at least six consecutive months immediately preceding election day; and 
  • A resident of the municipality or owner of assessed land in the municipality for the past three months.
How to Vote

Eligible voters can vote at the polling stations set up in the Town of Rosthern. Voters can check the published and posted Notice of Poll for the location of their polling place. Polling stations are open from 9:00 am to 8:00 pm on election day.

Instructions on how to vote are posted at all polling stations. If you need help the Deputy Returning Officer who gives you the ballot will assist you.

The names of the candidates for mayor and council are listed on the ballots for each office. The names of candidates will be in alphabetical order. The candidate's occupation, if any, is printed beneath the candidate's name.

You may vote for only one candidate for mayor, and no more than six councilors, by making a distinct "X" in the space beside the candidate's name. The ballot is secret.